Quick Update: Giving Thanks

Happy early Thanksgiving, everyone! Wanted to provide a quick update and let you know what to expect around the holiday – which, I’m sure you can guess, is not much. I’ll be spending the next few days away from the TV and in the presence of some good friends and family, trying to recharge my power cells after an exhausting month. Things will probably be a little quiet around here for the next week after that as I work through my backlog and digest the season finales of a few cable dramas, but I’ll pop up with a catch-up on my Grimm recaps and some thoughts on seasons wrapping up. (Also, I’ll be appearing on Cory Barker’s Test Pilot series in a couple weeks, discussing the pilot episode of Lucky Louie, which will occupy most of my attention.)

But really, that update’s just an excuse for me to get a little sappy around the holiday season. As of this month, A Helpless Compiler has been operational for nine months, entering into the competitive world of television blogging and offering commentary of elaborate length and questionable certainty. I started doing this because I wanted to get something out of all the television I watched and because I was burned out on writing book reviews, and it’s turned essentially into a second unpaid job I’ve committed to with gusto. I’ve invested in shows to a ridiculous extent, watched things I never would have otherwise, and suffered through some really terrible television for the benefit of people who might be reading. I enjoy doing this more than I thought I was going to, and a large part of that is the fact that it really does feel like I’m contributing to a broader conversation.

So let me just say: thank you. Thanks to anyone who’s read, followed, retweeted or linked to any of my content over the last few months, anyone who’s had feedback on my commentary either positive or negative and who’s taken the time to let me know what they thought of it. I may not make a living off this, but I know at least someone’s reading it, and that means quite a bit.

And of course, a special thanks to my “toxic study group” on Twitter, friends of the blog with whom I’ve lost countless hours to discussing the nuances of various shows. There’s too many to count I’m sure, but thanks to Noel, Daniel, Chris, Andy, Jaime, Adam, Phoebe, Justin, Carrie, Andrew, Jamiesen, Christopher, Jamie, Elena, Sava, Kelly and Orrin – all of whom have a standing invitation for a drink if you ever find yourselves in the Portland metro area.

Special thanks to Rowan Kaiser, whose early encouragement helped me move from just tweeting about TV to actually writing about it; Cory Barker, whose offer to collaborate has led to a lot of fun in podcasting and pilot revisiting; and Todd VanDerWerff, who paid me one of the highest compliments I’ve ever gotten by including me in a Follow Friday list of “awesome TV critics not enough of you follow.”

Happy Thanksgiving everybody, and I’ll see you when I get back.

P.S. To make this post still TV relevant, my favorite Thanksgiving episode of television is “Bart vs. Thanksgiving,” from season two of The Simpsons. Runner up is “The One Where Underdog Gets Away” from season one of Friends – I’m a sucker for Thanksgiving stories where it’s clear how your friends become your family.

About Les Chappell

The Mad Hatter of media criticism. Co-founder of This Was Television, contributor to The A.V. Club, founder of A Helpless Compiler and The Lesser of Two Equals.
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Update: Giving Thanks

  1. elena says:

    aww, I just stumbled on here to read up on your TV thoughts, and then I got thanked! I’m always here to discuss community love and any other dorky TV passions. you’re a blast to puzzle stuff through with. cheers!

Leave a Reply

