Announcement: Now Compiling for The A.V. Club

To paraphrase what a wise man once said, running a television criticism blog in this overpopulated media landscape is akin to throwing messages in bottles out into a churning sea made up entirely of messages in bottles. The chance of your message getting noticed and someone being sent out to rescue you is punishingly slim. But every once in a blue moon, someone who owns a big boat made of money finds your message and agrees to let you ride on his big boat made of money if you keep making messages for him.

All of which is a roundabout way to say that, after a little over a year of offering my unique take on television in the form of reviews and podcasts and email chats, such an event has happened for me. Starting April 8, I will be joining the TV Club staff of The A.V. Club to provide regular recaps of Showtime’s The Borgias, which launches its second season on Sunday night.

This is an incredibly exciting opportunity for me – if my multiple links to their coverage hasn’t given it away, I hold The A.V. Club in the highest esteem for the quality of writing they do and the ridiculous variety of shows and topics they’re able to cover. I’ve been privileged to count A.V. Club contributors such as Rowan Kaiser, Zack Handlen and Carrie Raisler as friends of the blog for a long time now, and I’m so happy I can now count them as coworkers.

So next Sunday, my review of the season two premiere “The Borgia Bull” will be available on The A.V. Club – I’ll also post a link here as well once they become available. If you’ve been reading me at all this last year, please follow me there and read and comment away – the more readers they get, the better the chance that I’ll get to keep doing more.

(And to fans of my regular coverage, don’t worry – I’ll continue to write periodically here on the shows I like, as well as keep my seat on the Barker Chappell Daglas roundtables on this season of Mad Men, of which a new installment will be coming soon.)

About Les Chappell

The Mad Hatter of media criticism. Co-founder of This Was Television, contributor to The A.V. Club, founder of A Helpless Compiler and The Lesser of Two Equals.
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Announcement: Now Compiling for The A.V. Club

  1. Pingback: A.V. Club Review: The Borgias, “The Borgia Bull” | A Helpless Compiler

Leave a Reply

